Campaigning for an
independent Friesland

Frisian Flags

The ancient Frisian Flag, now used by the Province of Friesland in the Netherlands, otherwise known as Westfriesland, comprises four blue and three white diagonal stripes. In the white stripes are a total of seven red pompeblêden, stylised heart-shaped leaves of the yellow water-lily. These represent the seven Frisian regions in the Middle Ages, namely West Friesland, Westergoa, Eastergoa, Hunsingo, Fivelingo, Emsingo, and Jeverland. This shall be adopted as the national flag of Friesland upon independence, though the traditional flags of Ost-Friesland and Nordfriesland shall continue to represent those regions.

Flag of Westfriesland

Flag of Ost-Friesland

Flag of Nordfriesland

In recent years, flags have been designed to represent all the ancient Frisian regions, including areas that no longer speak Frisian, and are not claimed by the Frisian Alliance. The first such Interfrisian Flag was introduced in 2006 by the Groep fan Auwerk, combining motifs from the regional flags with a Nordic Cross. In 2009 the Interfrisian Council produced a completely different Interfrisian Flag, in a circular design.

Interfrisian Flag (2006)

Interfrisian Flag (2009)